According to a
Missouri State Highway
Patrol report ... On
Highway A, a half mile
west of Bragg City in
Pemiscot County, at 8:10
a.m. Sunday, an eastbound
vehicle driven by Evelyn
R. Lawson, 55, of the
state of Mississippi
traveled off the right
Bragg promises to do just
that during a two-night
stand next week at City
Winery, where he’ll
mix songs from his ...
food drive/concert to
families in Ferguson, Mo.
change the world —
I wish it worked like
Mann and his wife, Pam,
of Bragg City, Daniel R.
Harmon, of Springfield,
Mo. and Tony P. Cassaday,
of O’Fallon; four
Enriquez, of Texas City,
Texas, Shella Prouty and
her husband, Kevin, of
St. Peters, Cheryl D.
Bragg played an impromptu
show in Ferguson,
Missouri on Tuesday (19
August), the city in
which unarmed black
teenager Michael Brown
was shot dead by police
officers. The singer was
playing in nearby St
Louis when he made a trip
to the city ...
Bragg performed an
impromptu show in
Ferguson, Missouri on
Tuesday (August 19). The
playing in nearby St
Louis when he made a trip
to the city, which made
headlines after the
recent civil unrest
following the police
shooting of ...
rocker Billy Bragg staged
an impromptu concert in
St. Louis, Missouri on
Tuesday (19Aug14 ... of
celebrities have offered
up their thoughts on the
issues facing the city.
But folk singer and
political activist Bragg
and touring partner Joe
Bailey Rutledge, 97, of
Bragg City, Missouri,
died Monday, June 30,
2014, in Cape Girardeau.
He was born and raised in
University in 1938. He
moved to Steele, Missouri
BRAGG CITY, Mo.- Pemiscot
County law enforcement
officials were called to
the scene of an airplane
crash on Sunday morning.
According to Pemiscot
County Sheriff Tommy
Greenwell, the crash
occurred in a cotton
field along County
Highway 291 just west of
Department has arrested
and charged a Bragg City
man with on sexual
assault charges ... the
victim of two
pranks. 12 years later,
Missouri killing still a
mystery 12 years later,
Missouri killing ...
LIVED IN MID-MISSOURI: 26
years. ORIGINAL HOMETOWN:
Bragg City, Mo. (10 miles
east of Kennett)
EDUCATION: Masters Degree
in Public Administration,
UM-C; Bachelors Degree
from Arkansas State
University, double major
generally are in better
financial shape than
those nationwide, though
there is cause for
concern about some,
according to a state
audit released Tuesday.
Auditor Tom Schweich's
report examined 89 public
After 32 years
of teaching, Michael J.
Budds knows music. Still,
the MU professor said,
“there are only two
kinds of music: good
music and bad music, and
sometimes I can’t
goes far beyond the
announced Tuesday night
that Cam Biedscheid would
no longer be part of the
program. Biedscheid, a
St. Louis native who
transferred from Notre
Dame in January, never
played in a game for the
Tigers. He was expected
to be eligible ...
PALMYRA, Mo. (WGEM) -
Deer season is almost
here, but Missouri
hunters might have
trouble finding deer this
season. The Missouri
says herds have declined
by almost 20 percent in
the last decade. A
combination of loose
O’FALLON, MO (KPLR)
crews are getting close
to finishing work on
Ameren Missouri`s new
solar power plant in
O`Fallon, Missouri. In
what used to be a 20 acre
beanfield, workers have
been building the
O`Fallon Renewable Energy
Center, an ...
McCarthy, senior vice
president and chief
operating officer of the
state's largest health
care foundation, Missouri
Foundation for Health, is
retiring, effective Oct.
1, officials report. A
replacement for McCarthy
has yet to be named, CEO
Bob Hughes said.
Missouri police dog who
captured an armed robbery
suspect last year in a
chase caught on video has
died in the line of duty.
Brunie, an award-winning
canine cop for the Kansas
City Police Department,
was helping Belton, Mo.,
cops pursue a suspect
FLORISSANT, Mo. — A
daily workout videos have
gone viral and are
serving as an inspiration
to people across the
world. “My work out
day 140 part 2! Please
don’t judge me. If
you don’t have
nothing to say nice keep
it to yourself ...
sure feels good to be
back on top. After
disappointing loss to
Indiana last week, the
Tigers turned it around
on Saturday on the road
to upset the South
Carolina Gamecocks. The
final score was 21-20,
showing just how close
this game was.
– An assistant
Missouri attorney general
argued Monday in a St.
Louis courtroom that
state law, backed by a
vote of the people, makes
it clear that marriage is
defined as between a man
and a woman. But St.
Louis City Counselor
Winston Calvert ...
What inspection requirements do licensed and license-exempt facilities have?
Both licensed and license-exempt facilities are required to have regular fire, sanitation and health inspections. In addition, licensed facilities have additional compliance monitoring inspections each year.
Do all persons who care for children (who are not related to the provider) in their homes have to be licensed by the state?
No. A person may care for four or fewer children who are not *related to the provider without being licensed.
What should I do if I notice an in-home provider is caring for more than four (4) unrelated children?
Providing unlicensed child care for more than 4 children, who are not *related to the provider, is against the law in Missouri. If you know someone who is providing illegal care, contact us and file a complaint.
How many children may a licensed facility care for at one time?
There are several criteria that determine a facilitys licensed capacity. These include:
Square footage for indoor and outdoor areas;
Directors education and work experience; and
Amount of materials and equipment.
What happens if my child gets sick while they are at the licensed facility?
Child care rules document what symptoms require providers to observe children more closely and what symptoms require that providers send children home. Your provider is required to contact you when signs of illness are observed.
How will I learn about the providers rules and policies?
A licensed child care facility is required to provide the parents with written policies, program goals, admission, care and discharge of the child at the time of enrollment. The provider must also have a copy of the child care licensing rules available for review. License-exempt providers are required to give parents a Notice of Parental Responsibility which includes the facilitys discipline philosophy and policy, facilitys staff/child ratio, and the educational philosophy and policy. Sec. 210.254, RSMo
Can my provider give medications to my child?
The middle or home provider is not required to administer medication. However, if your provider chooses to administer medication, there are guidelines in the rules that must be followed for licensed and license-exempt child care providers.
What happens if my provider breaks a rule?
When it is determined that the provider is not in compliance, the provider is notified at the time of inspection. If there is a consistent pattern of non-compliance or areas that present a danger to the health, securety and welfare of children, disciplinary action will be taken.
What types of disciplinary action can be taken?
Disciplinary actions include the following:
Denial of Initial License - A formal action notifying a person why he or she cannot receive a child care license, taken when an applicant for initial license does not comply with statute or licensing rule requirements.
Denial of Renewal - A formal action notifying a person why the child care license will not be renewed at the expiration of the licensing period. This action occurs when the licensee does not comply with statute and licensing rule requirements.
Letter of Warning - Formal correspondence that notifies a licensee that violations have occurred. It is removed from public record after one year.
Letter of Censure - Formal correspondence that notifies a licensee that violations have occurred. It is filed permanently in the public record.
Probation - Places conditions or terms on a license that may exceed the licensing rule requirements for a specific period of time. It may lead to further discipline if the licensee fails to comply with the terms of the probationary license.
Settlement Agreement - This is a negotiation process by which we and the licensee finalize a formal agreement on specific terms or conditions to allow continuation of the license.
Immediate suspension - This is the only action taken by us that immediately terminates the licensed status. This occurs in situations of imminent bodily harm to children.
Revocation - This is a formal action that removes a child care license.
Injunctive Relief - This is a court order that causes a person to cease operating a child care facility or imposes conditions to protect children who are in care at the facility from imminent danger.
Referral to the Prosecuting Attorney - Our action when there is evidence of a statute violation for care of more than 4 children not related to the caregiver without a license.
What will my provider do in an emergency if I cannot be reached?
The provider is required to obtain emergency contact information at the time of enrollment. The provider will typically try to contact the parent first, and if the parent cannot be reached, the persons listed as the emergency contacts will be called. You should review your emergency contacts periodically to ensure your provider has updated information.
What is a ratio?
The amount of staff, required by licensing rules, per child required in a licensed facility. In license-exempt facilities, the owner/operator defines the ratio.
What are the ratios for group home and child care middles?
The following staff/child ratios apply to group child care homes and child care middles:
Birth to 2 years - 1 caregiver for every 4 children
2 year ancients 1 caregiver for every 8 children
3 to 5 year ancients 1 caregiver for every 10 children
Ages 5 years and up - 1 caregiver for every 16 children
Special requirements apply for mixed age groups.
What is the capacity for family home providers?
The number of children and the ages of the children in care is defined on the family home providers license which must be posted at the facility. A family home provider is limited to caring for no more than ten *unrelatedchildren. The number of *unrelated children under the age of two will affect the total number of children allowed.
How do I find out about complaints crazye against a provider?
When you tour the facility, ask to see copies of current inspection reports. We maintain copies of inspection reports, substantiated complaints and other licensing information. You can view a copy of a child care facilitys licensing record by contacting the child care licensing office. All complaints are investigated, but only substantiated complaints are placed in the providers public record.
How do I file a complaint?
You can file a complaint by contacting the child care licensing office. A complaint form is available, but the form is not required. We also accepts complaints by telephone. For more information about how to file a complaint,click here. When filing a complaint, please be prepared to give as much detail as possible. This will assist us in gathering the information needed to conduct a thorough investigation.
How often are providers inspected?
Licensed facilities are inspected at least once annually by staff from:
Fire securety; and
Licensed facilities are inspected at least twice annually by staff from:
License exempt facilities are inspected once annually by staff from:
Environmental sanitation; and
Unregulated facilities are not inspected by Section for Child Care Regulation.
Can a facility disenroll my child?
Yes. Refer to your providers written policies and procedures. Each regional resource and referral office has an Inclusion Specialist who can work with the provider and parent before dis-enrollment occurs. For assistance, contact your regional resource and referral office (Child Care Aware of Missouri).
Can the provider transport my child?
We have rules that licensed and license-exempt providers must follow. The provider is responsible for the care, securety and supervision of children on field trips or any other time the children are transported away from the facility. Parents must be informed when field trips are planned and written parental consent must be on file for all field trips and transportation. Drivers and vehicles must meet the requirements of Missouri law. Child securety restraints must be used according to Missouri state law.
How can I find child care for a child with special needs?
Contact United 4 Children at 1-800-467-2322. You will be connected to an Inclusion Specialist who will assist your family in finding care specific to the special needs of your child. If your question has not been answered, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Once I get my child care license, what changes impact my license?
Issues such as change in ownership, change in location, change in capacity, or a change in hours (adding care after 9 p.m.) can affect a child care license. Prior to making changes that you believe could affect your licensing status, you must contact us.
How long do I have to complete the application process?
An application is valid for six months. If your facility is not licensed within that timeframe, you will need to complete a modern application.
Are child care licenses permanent?
No. A child care license can be issued for a maximum of a two year period.
How many children can I care for without being licensed?
Missouri state law allows you to care for no more than four children not *related to you without a child care license.
What type of training do I need on a yearly basis?
The director, child care providers, all caregivers and volunteers who are counted in staff/child ratios of licensed family child care homes, group child care homes and child care middles are required to obtain at least 12 approved clock hours of child care related training during each calendar year.
We contract with qualified training organizations to provide accessible and affordable training for child care providers across the state. The training must be based on competencies (essential knowledge and skill areas) for assuring quality child care. Child care related training topics include: health, securety, nutrition, developmentally appropriate activities and learning experiences for children; positive guidance and discipline; positive communication and interaction with families; planning and setting up an appropriate environment for children; professional and administrative practices.
Child care training and professional development opportunities include:
Training workshops on various topics;
Child Development Associate (CDA) training and assessment to assist child care providers earn a national CDA credential from the Council for Early Childhood Professional Recognition;
College credit training from some colleges and universities;
Advanced and specialized training for entry level child care staff, directors, infant/toddler caregivers, and caring for children with special needs; and
Individualized technical assistance and training to assist providers to access needs and make improvements in their respective programs.
For a list of approved trainings and professional development, contact Child Care Aware of Missouri at 800-200-9017. Click on Training & Professional Development, then choose the training calendar in your area.
Are there grants or funding available to operate my child care program?
We do not provide grants or funding, however there are other resources that may be available to you.
What happens if I don´t get licensed and I care for more than four (4) children who are not related to me?
If we determine that you are providing care to more than four (4) children not *related to you, we will expect you to immediately limit the number of children in your care to 4 or fewer in compliance with Missouri law. Parents of children in your care will be notified if you are operating illegally. Additionally, local law enforcement will be notified. Legal referrals may also be crazye to the local prosecuting attorney for further action.
Is there a fee for a license?
The State of Missouri does not charge a fee, but you may incur costs to meet required rules. (Examples include install a fence, obtain a medical examination, etc.) In addition, you will need to contact your local city or county to determine if any fees apply to your business.
What types of inspections do I need to obtain a child care license?
How long does it take to get licensed?
The exact time to become licensed varies depending on how rapidly the applicant is able to meet the licensing rules. The licensing process includes inspections by the Department of Health and Senior Services, Section for Child Care Regulation, Bureau of Environmental Regulation and Licensure, and the Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. There may also be local building and zoning ordinances that apply. Therefore, it is advisable to begin the licensing process as soon as possible.
What is a registered provider?
Some families may be eligible for financial help with their child care costs. The Department of Social Services, Family Support Division may contract with licensed and license-exempt providers to pay for child care services for eligible children. If you are interested in this program, contact your local county Family Support Division office.
What should I do if I suspect child abuse or neglect (CA/N)?
Child care providers are mandated (required) by law to report any suspicion of child abuse or neglect. These reports must be crazye to the Child Abuse and Neglect (CA/N) hotline at 1-800-392-3738.
Why does the Section for Child Care Regulation do background screenings?
Our rules require background screenings. We have adopted a policy to address background screenings. The following rules and statutes provide the authority for the section to conduct background screenings.
19 CSR 30-62.102(1)(A) states:
Day care personnel shall be of good character and intent and shall be qualified to provide care conducive to the welfare of children. Similar rules for family homes exist 19 CSR 30-61.105(1)(D)
19 CSR 30-62.102(1) (K) states:
Volunteers counted in staff/child ratios, caregivers and other personnel shall be screened for child abuse/neglect. The screening shall be requested by the provider within ten (10 days) of any individual beginning employment or volunteering in the facility. Any investigated allegation of child abuse or neglect in which the investigator finds reasonable cause to believe that the individual is the alleged perpetrator of child abuse or neglect, shall be evaluated by the department. After review, the department may prohibit the person from being present in the facility during child care hours. Similar rules for family homes exist 19 CSR 30-61.105(1)(K)
19 CSR 30-62.102(1)(L) states in part:
The child care provider shall request and have on file the results of a criminal record review from the Missouri State Highway Patrol as defined by 19 CSR 30-62.042 Initial Licensing Information and 19 CSR 30-62.052 License Renewal. The child care provider shall request a criminal record review within ten (10) days following a change of the facility owner(s), board president or chairperson, the middle director or group day care home provider, employees of the provider, or volunteers counted in the staff/child ratios. The department may request a criminal record review from the Missouri State Highway Patrol for any adult present in the facility when child care children are present. The criminal record reviews shall include records of criminal convictions, pending criminal charges, and suspended imposition of sentence during the term of probation.
2. Any information received by the department that indicates that the subject of the criminal record review poses a threat to the securety or welfare of children shall be evaluated by the department. After review, the department may prohibit such person from being present on the premises of the facility during child care hours. Similar rules for family homes exist 19 CSR 30-61.105(1)(L)
19 CSR 30-62.102(1)(M) states: Any person present at the facility during the hours in which child care is provided shall not present a threat to the health, securety or welfare of the children Similar rules for family homes exist 19 CSR 30-61.115(5)
Section 210.221, RSMo sets for the powers and duties of the department concerning child care licensing.
Section 210.906, RSMo requires every child care worker hired on or after Jan. 1, 2001 to complete registration with the Family Care Safety Registry.
Section 210.922, RSMo allows the department to use information contained in the Family Care Safety Registry to carry out its statutory duties.
I am interested in opening a modern child care facility or home, who should I contact?
The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services Section for Child Care Regulation will assist potential child care providers in getting started with the initial licensing process. Once the prospective provider has completed an application for licensure, the Section for Child Care Regulation will notify the Division of Fire Safety and Environmental Child Care Program of the providers need for initial inspections.
How often are child care providers inspected?
For sanitation, child care providers are inspected at least annually. Providers that routinely fail to meet sanitation requirements may be inspected more frequently.
Who conducts child care sanitation inspections?
Inspections may be conducted by Environmental Public Health Specialists from the Department of Health and Senior Services Environmental Child Care Program or from the Local Public Health Agency.
How do I file a sanitation complaint regarding a child care facility or home?
You can file a complaint by contacting the child care licensing office. A complaint form is available, but the form is not required. The Section for Child Care Regulation also accepts complaints by telephone. For more information about how to file a complaint, click here. When filing a complaint, please be prepared to give as much detail as possible. This will assist the Section in gathering the information needed to conduct a thorough investigation. The Environmental Child Care Program assists the Section for Child Care Regulation in investigating complaints as needed.
Are there differences in sanitation requirements for licensed family homes, group homes, middles, and license-exempt facilities?
Yes, there are a number of differences in sanitation requirements for the different types of child care in Missouri. Please refer to the sanitation guidelines or contact us for questions about specific issues.
What do child care sanitation inspectors look for?
Child care sanitation inspectors conduct thorough inspections to ensure the health and securety of children in care. Inspectors evaluate cleanliness, facility maintenance, water and sewer services, hygiene, food protection, diapering, and other various procedural issues that promote a healthy environment.
Is lead-based paint allowed in child care?
Prior to 1978 lead-based paint was widely used, and any pre-1978 structure may contain lead-based paint. It is important to understand the difference between lead-based paint and a lead hazard. Lead hazards are not permitted in child care, but the simple existence of lead-based paint does not necessarily constitute a lead hazard. Lead-based paint that is deteriorating or on a friction surface are examples of a lead hazard that is not permitted in child care.
What are the sanitation requirements for having pets in child care?
All animals must be considered to be in good health. Pets such as cats and dogs should be routinely evaluated by a veterinarian and vaccinated according to the veterinarians recommendations or as required by local ordinance. Birds of the parrot family must be tested for psittacosis. Reptiles are prohibited in child care. Other animals are evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
NOTE: the Section for Child Care Regulation also has securety requirements for animals in child care.
What is considered an approved food source in child care?
Child care providers must utilize foods from an approved source. The following are examples of approved sources:
Schools and restaurants
Grocery and other retail food stores
Commercial food warehouses and distributors
Local farmers market for whole, uncut fruits and vegetables
Providers garden for whole, uncut fruits and vegetables
The following are examples of unapproved food sources:
Custom-exempt processed beef and pork
Farm fresh eggs from individuals without a valid egg license from the Missouri Department of Agriculture
Foods prepared at an uninspected facility such as an employees home
What are the expectations for a child care provider operating under a boil water order?
Depending on the type of water supply, a boil water order may be issued by DHSS, Local Public Health Agency, Department of Natural Resources, or the water supplier. A boil water order indicates that the water may not be secure for consumption. Child care providers are expected to follow boil water orders to protect children in care. If you have questions regarding a boil water order, contact us or your local public health agency.
Why is the required cleaning process so complicated?
Certain surfaces are required to be washed, rinsed, sanitized, and air-dried. The process ensures that surfaces of critical importance such as diapering pads are not only clean to sight and touch, but free of harmful microorganisms as well.
Where can I get sanitizer test strips for my child care?
Providers are required to have a test kit for testing sanitizer solution concentrations. Restaurant supply stores are generally considered the best place to obtain test strips for the various approved sanitizers.
What is date-marking?
Date-marking certain foods is required for most child care providers. Refrigerated foods prepared at the facility that are potentially hazardous, alert-to-eat, and held over 24 hours must be labeled with a discard-by date of the preparation day plus seven days. Commercially processed, refrigerated food items that are potentially hazardous, alert-to-eat, and held over 24 hours must also be date-marked once the product has been opened. If you have questions about which foods require date-marking, contact us or your local public health agency.
Why is hand washing so important?
Good hand washing is the single most important thing a child care provider can do to prevent the spread of disease. It is critical that provider and child alike learn to wash their hands frequently.
If you use cell phones, pay attention to this limits for safe exposure to radiofrequency (RF) energy.
Working closely with federal health and safety agencies, such as the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the FCC has adopted limits for safe exposure to radiofrequency (RF) energy. These limits are given in terms of a unit referred to as the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR), which is a measure of the amount of radio frequency energy absorbed by the body when using a mobile phone. The FCC requires cell phone manufacturers to ensure that their phones comply with these objective limits for safe exposure. Any cell phone at or below these SAR levels (that is, any phone legally sold in the U.S.) is a "safe" phone, as measured by these standards. The FCC limit for public exposure from cellular telephones is an SAR level of 1.6 watts per kilogram (1.6 W/kg).
FCC SAR Database - You can usually find the SAR value of a cellular phone through the FCC database if you can get the FCC ID number from the instrument.
The FCC ID number is usually shown somewhere on the case of the phone or device. In many cases, you will have to remove the battery pack to find the number. Once you have the number proceed as follows. Go to the following Web address:www.fcc.gov/oet/ea/fccid. Once you are there you will see instructions for inserting the FCC ID number. Enter the FCC ID number (in two parts as indicated: "Grantee Code" is comprised of the first three characters, the "Equipment Product Code" is the remainder of the FCC ID). Then click on "Start Search." The grant of equipment authorization for this particular ID number should appear. The highest SAR values reported in the equipment certification test data are usually included in the comments section of the grant of equipment certification.
Additional information on Specific Absorption Rates (SAR) can be found on
For this or any other consumer publication in an alternative format (electronic ASCII text, Braille, large print or audio) please write or call us at the address or phone number below, or send an email to FCC504@fcc.gov.
Looking For More Information?
You can contact the FCC at:
Federal Communications Commission
Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau
445 12th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20554
1-888-CALL-FCC (1-888-225-5322) VOICE
1-888-TELL-FCC (1-888-835-5322) TTY
This is Real: The World Climate is Changing
Our Earth is warming. The average temperature of the Earth has risen about 1.4 ° F (0.7 ° C over) over the last century. It is projected that the average temperature rise of approximately 2 to 11.5 ° F (1.1 ° C to 6.4 ° C) over the next hundred years. Small changes in average global temperature could lead to large and potentially dangerous changes in climate and weather.
The evidence is clear. Rising temperatures have been accompanied by changes in the weather and climate. Many sites have seen changes in rainfall, which resulted in more flooding, drought or heavy rain and waves more frequent and severe heat.The oceans and glaciers on the planet have also undergone some big changes: the oceans are warming and acidifying, the ice caps are melting and sea levels are rising. As these and other changes are more pronounced in the coming decades, they will have to present challenges to our society and our environment.
Humans are largely responsible for recent climate change
Over the past century, human activity has downloaded large amounts of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Most greenhouse gases come from the burning of fossil fuels that produce energy, but deforestation, industrial processes and some agricultural practices also emit gases into the atmosphere.
The greenhouse gases act like a blanket around the Earth, which traps energy in the atmosphere and causes it to heat.This phenomenon is called the greenhouse effect is natural and necessary to sustain life on Earth. However, the accumulation of greenhouse gases can change the Earth´s climate and dangerous effects to human health and welfare and ecosystems.
The choices we make today will affect the amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere will in the near future and for years to come.
Our lives are linked to climate. Human societies have adapted to relatively stable climate which have enjoyed since the last Ice Age ended several millennia ago. A warming climate will result in process changes that could affect our water supplies, agriculture, energy and transport systems, the natural environment and to our own health and safety.
Some of the climate changes are inevitable. carbon dioxide can remain in the atmosphere for about a century so the Earth will continue to warm over the coming decades. The hotter it gets, the greater the risk of more severe changes in climate and Earth system. Although it is difficult to predict the exact impacts of climate change, it is clear that the climate to which we are accustomed to is no longer a guide to which we can trust what we can expect in the future.
We can reduce the risks we face from climate change. Choosing options that reduce pollution from greenhouse gases and prepare for the changes that are already underway, we can reduce the risks of climate change. Our decisions will shape the world in which our children and grandchildren will live.
You can take action. You can take steps at home, on the road, in your office to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases and the risks associated with climate change. Many of these steps can save you money; some, such as walking or cycling to work could improve your health! You may also participate in activities to support local or state level energy efficiency, clean energy programs and other climate programs.
EPA and other federal agencies are taking action. EPA is working to protect the health and welfare of the people in this country through common sense measures to reduce pollution and greenhouse gases to help communities prepare for change climate.
The U.S. Department of Education recognizes the great work of teachers throughout the country, who give of themselves to improve educational opportunities for all students.
We support the work of teachers through initiatives and resources that lift the profession and help educators and students succeed.
Teach to Lead is an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education and the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to advance student outcomes by expanding opportunities for teacher leadership, particularly those that allow teachers to stay in the classroom.
The initiative seeks to:
Highlight existing state and district systems that are working to support teacher leadership;
Share resources to create new opportunities for teacher leadership; and
Encourage people at all levels to commit to expanding teacher leadership.
You have the right to a safe workplace. The Law on Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act) was enacted to prevent death, injury or illness of workers in their workplaces. The law requires employers to provide free working conditions hazards and unsafe conditions. The Act (OSH Act) created the Administration Occupational Safety and Health (OSHA), which sets and enforces standards that protect the safety and health at workplaces. OSHA also provides information, training and assistance to workers and employers. Workers can make a complaint to OSHA inspect their workplace if they believe their employer is not following OSHA standards or there are serious risks.
Contact us with questions or to make a complaint . We will keep your information confidential. We are here to help.
The rights of workers under the OSHA Act
Workers have the right to conditions of work without risk of serious harm. Site to ensure safe and healthful workplace, OSHA also provides workers the right to:
Ask OSHA to conduct an inspection of the workplace.
Exercise their rights under the law of revenge free or discrimination.
Receive information and training about hazards, methods to prevent damage and OSHA standards that apply to your workplace. The training must be in a language you can understand;
Having access to the results of the tests done to find hazards in the workplace,
Private sector workers
Most employees in the country are under the jurisdiction of the OSHA law. OSHA covers employers and private sector workers in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and other jurisdictions of the United States, either directly by the OSHA Federal, or anOSHA-approved state program . State Programs health and safety should be at least as effective as federal OSHA program. To find the contact information for the Office of Federal or state program of the nearest OSHA, see the map of the regional offices.
Employees of state and local government
Employees who work for state and local governments are not covered by the federal OSHA, but have protection under the OSHA law if they work in states that have a state program approved by OSHA. Four states and a territory of the USA. UU. have OSHA-approved plans that cover only public sector employees. These include: Connecticut, Illinois, New Jersey, New York, and the Virgin Islands. Workers in the private sector in these four states and the Virgin Islands are covered by federal OSHA.
Federal agencies must have a safety and health program that meets the same standards as private employers. Although OSHA does not assign fines to federal agencies, yes the monitors and responds to complaints from their workers. The States Postal Service (USPS) is covered by OSHA.
Not covered by the OSHA Act:
Members of the immediate family of the owners of a farm that did not employ outside workers; and
Workplace hazards that are regulated by another federal agency (eg Administration Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA), the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), the Coast Guard)
Standards OSHA: Occupational
OSHA standards are regulations that describe the methods that employers must use to protect their employees from hazards and risks. There are OSHA standards for the construction , agriculture, marine operations , and general industry. latter category are the standards that apply to most workplaces. Standards limit the amount of hazardous chemicals to which workers can be exposed;require the use of certain safe practices and equipment; and require employers to monitor hazards and keep reports of injuries and illnesses in the workplace. Examples of OSHA standards include requirements to: provide fall protection; prevent the collapse of excavations; prevent some infectious diseases; ensure that workers entering confined spaces safely; prevent employees from being exposed to harmful substances such as asbestos; put guards on machines; provide respirators or other safety equipment; and provide training for certain dangerous jobs.
Employers must also conform to the General Duty Clause of the OSHA Act requires employers to keep their workplace free of hazards that are recognized as serious. This clause is usually cited when no OSHA standard applies directly to danger.
Workers can request that OSHA inspect your workplace
Workers or their representatives, may file a complaint and request OSHA to conduct an inspection of your workplace if they believe there is a serious danger or your employer is not complying with OSHA standards. A worker can tell OSHA to keep your identity confidential. 's a violation of the OSH Act an employee is fired, demoted, transferred, or discriminated against in any way for filing a complaint or exercise other rights of OSHA.
You can make a complaint online , download the form and mail or fax to the office of the nearest OSHA ; or by calling 1-800-321-OSHA (6742). Most of the complaints received from the Internet can be resolved informally by phone with your employer. Written complaints that are signed by an employee or representative and sent to the OSHA office nearest are more likely to result in an OSHA inspection at your workplace.
When the OSHA inspector arrives, workers and their representatives have the right to:
Be present during the inspection.
Talk to the OSHA inspector privately.
Take part in meetings between the inspector and the employer before and after the inspection.
When no union representative or the employee, the OSHA inspector must speak confidentially to a reasonable number of employees during the course of the inspection.
When an inspector finds violations of OSHA standards or serious hazards, OSHA can issue citations and fines. A citation includes the methods that an employer can use to fix the problem, and the date when these corrective actions must be completed. Workers have the right to challenge only the date when the problem has to be solved. But employers have the right to dispute whether there is a violation, or any other part of the citation. Workers or their representatives must notify OSHA if they want to be involved in the appeal process, if the employer challenges a subpoena.
"If you send a complaint requesting an OSHA inspection, you are entitled to a copy of the results of the OSHA inspection and request that they be revised if OSHA decides not to issue citations."
Employers have a responsibility to provide a safe workplace. Employers MUST provide a workplace free of serious hazards and follow all health and safety standards of OSHA .Employers have to find and fix security issues and health. OSHA also requires employers to try to eliminate or reduce hazards by making changes in working conditions, rather than simply wear masks, gloves, ear plugs, or other types of personal protective equipment (PPE for short in English). Switching to safer chemicals, processes to trap harmful gases, or using ventilation systems to clean the air are examples of effective ways to eliminate or reduce risks.
Employers also MUST:
Testing in the workplace, such as air sampling, required by some OSHA standards
Providing hearing tests or other medical tests required by OSHA standards
Locate OSHA citations, data on injuries and illnesses, and the OSHA poster at the jobsite in a place where employees can see them.
Report to OSHA within 8 hours after an incident in the workplace where there is a death or when three or more workers to go to hospital.
Not discriminate and not retaliate against an employee for exercising their rights under the law.
You can not be punished or discriminated against for exercising their rights under the law of the OSHA
OSHA law protects workers who complain to their employer, OSHA or other government agencies on working conditions that are not healthy or safe, or environmental problems. You can not be transferred, denied a raise, have your hours reduced, be fired, or punished in any other way for exercising their rights under the law of OSHA. OSHA There is help for whistleblowers .
If you have been punished or discriminated against for asserting your rights, you must file a complaint with OSHA within 30 days of the alleged retaliation have occurred to most complaints. No form is required, but you must send a letter or call the office nearest OSHA explaining the situation and the alleged discrimination.
What if there is a dangerous situation at work?
If you believe that your work conditions are not healthy or safe, we recommend that you notify your employer of the conditions, if possible.
You can make a complaint with OSHA about a hazardous job at any time. But you should not leave the job site only because you made a complaint. If the condition clearly presents a risk of death or serious physical harm, there is insufficient time for OSHA consider, and, whenever possible, you have shown the condition to your employer, you may have a legal right reused to work in a situation where you would be exposed to danger.
Additional information for workers
Does OSHA has reviewed my employer?
You can research the history of inspection through their employer seeking establishment of OSHA . Just enter the name of your company and choose the dates you want to examine.
What is the danger most commonly cited in my industry?You'll need to know the standard industry classification code (SIC, for its acronym in English) from their employer . Once you know your four-digit code, visit the OSHA Standards that are frequently cited , enter your SIC code and see the information for the last year.
Does OSHA provides technical information on hazards?
OSHA provides technical information to help workers, employers and professionals in health and safety issues, to reduce occupational injuries and illnesses. For example, you can find information on pathogens, and ergonomic machine guards or fall protection.
What is the OSHA materials that may be of interest to workers?
OSHA publishes a variety of publications on many topics. Some of the most useful publications for workers are listed below. See OSHA publications for a complete list of materials published by the agency. You can also order publications online.
We selected BRAGG CITY MISSOURI LATEST NEWS AND IMPORTANT ISSUES. Share!
If people in the media cannot decide whether they are in the business of reporting news or manufacturing propaganda,
it is all the more important that the public understand that difference,and choose their news sources accordingly.
Newsof.org. Selected the top stories of the city of BRAGG CITY MISSOURI. Political events, traffic accidents on highways, downtown events, neighborhoods and inside. Also researched local newspapers and social networks, as well as the site of City Hall. Crimes, are always subject to demand generally for information. Also the tragedies and disasters such as fires, floods, flooding, rain, hail and winds. Tags: Breaking News, BRAGG CITY MISSOURI, City, Indoors, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday , Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Car, Crash, Elections, Beating, Accident, Crime, Police, Criminal, Police, Road, Highway Access, Elections, Party, Hail, Rain, Flood, Anniversary, Award, Month, Week End , Today, Yesterday, Female, Male, Family, Child, People.